Want to lose weight? Shave your head

I recently (3 days ago) decided to shave my head, as the culmination of my intent to embrace male-pattern baldness.  I knew I would eventually do it, after my widow’s peak gradually became more prominent and then that classic bald spot appeared.  I had been cutting my hair shorter and shorter for the past couple years, then finally decided I’d had enough monkeying around. 

Now, no more haircuts ($ and time), no more shampoo, no more styling products (mousse), no more time spent staring at the mirror before going out to make sure my hair is presentable.  I think the cost of a few extra razors will be minimal compared to what I will be saving in the long run.  But, then I stepped outside into the frigid Minnesota winter air; I had to go get a new hat – one I didn’t mind wearing on a daily basis.

Then, it hit me.  My head was so cold because I was losing heat from my scalp, no longer insulated by hair.  Now my body will need to expend more energy to keep my head warm, and that means I will burn more calories to do so.  It’s a similar phenomenon to the fact that drinking a glass of cold water temporarily increases your metabolism because your body expends energy to maintain its internal temperature. 

I don’t expect a dramatic increase in metabolism from shaving one’s head, but it should have some effect.  Then again, walking one flight of stairs doesn’t exactly drop all your excess weight, but walking an extra flight of stairs, cutting a couple hundred calories, and going for a walk on a daily basis can make a big difference in the long run. 

I’m not aware of any study demonstrating this phenomenon, but will be keeping my eye out for one. 

My suggestion: embrace your male-pattern baldness.  Take it into your own hands and don’t ever think of doing a comb-over or wasting your money on Rogaine/Propecia, etc.

One Response to “Want to lose weight? Shave your head”

  1. Hey,

    Amazing!
    First when I read your blog title I thought you must be joking but, when I read your post completely then I understand the seriousness behind your thinking. It’s really wonderful and very informative..

    I would like to share one of my experience with you, when I searching for the information about losing weight in the internet, I came across a website “Metabolic Process which gives some additional information on losing weight.

    …………………00000………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Leave a Reply

