I love DOMS (Delayed-Onset Muscle Soreness)

I did some squats last night – after a long hiatus, mind you. I didn’t get a full leg workout in last night, butDOMS I made sure to get three sets of squats in before I had to quit. Then, about noon today, I started getting that sweet muscle burn in the thighs – that reminder that I pushed my legs beyond their normal comfort zone, a little pain with each step, gradually worsening throughout the day. Quite possibly among the best feelings in the world. It’s especially sweet when I don’t get it after a few workouts in a row, then I finally push myself hard enough to get it again. I would love to get it after every workout, but some times I just don’t have the energy to push it that hard. I’m going for that again tonight with my chest and triceps. Oh, how I want to hurt by tomorrow afternoon!

The image to the right is an MRI of the upper arm showing increased signal of the biceps one day after a biceps workout. It is a common, well-recognized phenomenon – usually occurs 1/2 to 2 days after exercise, peaks at 1-3 days, and may last hours to weeks. The pain certainly responds well to non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (e.g. ibuprofen, acetaminophen), but why bother with the poisons when not truly necessary. Headache – yes; muscle soreness – let it be. Bring on the natural high.

One Response to “I love DOMS (Delayed-Onset Muscle Soreness)”

  1. i’d give you a thumbs up, but i can’t move my arms. instead i’ll just nod in agreement.

Leave a Reply

