Muscle exhaustion

I finished yesterday with a great chest/triceps workout.  There’s nothing quite like the feel of muscle exhaustion.  Last week I struggled to brush my teeth one night because my biceps were trembling after a good workout.  Last night I tried to do one more dip – no way was that happening, my arms just collapsed.  Applying that continual stress to the muscles, however, is the means by which they hypertrophy (grow).  There’s all kinds of debate about whether or not you have to continue lifting weights to the point of muscle failure for a given exercise.  I’d say there’s no proof one way or the other.  Anecdotally, there’s plenty, but I don’t know that it’s been studied well.

Leave a Reply

