In the groove

I’m back on track with my workout regimen and loving it.  I’ve been on the elliptical 6 of the last 7 days, 8 of the last 10, and am basically craving it.  Sure, most mornings, I feel it would be easier to lie in bed longer and get another hour of sleep, but I feel so much better after pushing myself on the elliptical.  As with almost anything, it’s hard to get started on a lifestyle change.  Then, inertia takes over and it is suddenly a whole lot easier.  If you haven’t reached that yet, keep at it – you eventually will. 

4 Responses to “In the groove”

  1. Hello Dr. C.J.,
    I just ran across your blog looking for workouts to lower hypertension. I don’t know if this is the proper forum, but any suggestions are appreciated. A brief hx: I am 43 yr old WM, 5’11”, 214 lbs. I have been healthy all my life and little family history of diabetes on mother’s side (unknown biological father). A pre-employment physical 12/26/08 BP presented 133 over 101. Figured it was stress with inlaws visiting LOL. I saw a GP yesterday for Allegra refill and noticed BP was the same. After extensive hx and discussion, Dr. started me on ACE Inhibitor with blood work results due 5-7 days. Question: What is the recommended workout regimen look like and would that include weights? My heart rate is around 155-160 when I’m running a typical mile on treadmill. Should I slow down? My Dr. recommends HR of 130 till I can tolerate 170 6-9 months from now. Also, do you know of helpful websites to determine diet. Thanks so much and I’ll con’t reading your blog.
    Steve

  2. Thanks, Steve, for visiting. Good questions – they deserve longer answers, but let me touch on them briefly: Workout should consist of cardio exercise on most days of the week. I believe that weights are incredibly important. I will dig up some data to back that up – can’t remember where I have it at the moment. As far as the HR – I initially started with a target HR of 130-140 and was bored to death. It’s exercise – it works, but you should feel challenged too. I don’t think the actual number is so important but rather how you feel. At 43, your “max heart rate” is [220 – 43 = ] 177. There are a few different camps on this issue.

    I’ll dedicate a few upcoming posts to these questions – Great to hear you’re making some changes! Stay tuned.

    P.S. I think the ACE inhibitor is a good medication selection for someone trying to be more active – few side effects, no effect on heart rate, etc.

  3. Thanks Dr. CJ. I appreciate the research and response(s). My next question which I plan to visit with my GP, is diet related. I have a base knowledge of what are better choices. I’m reading every label on foods and keying in on sodium especially. However, if I’m looking to lose weight (say 20-25 lbs), I obviously need to make an effort to curb caleries, fat and carbs. I can’t see myself scrutinizing all four including sodium. So what do I concentrate on OR just make the best choices all around?
    Thanks again. I’ll stay tuned.
    Steve

  4. Great questions, Steve. See today’s post and stay tuned for more – I’m working on some more comprehensive posts regarding diet. Obviously a complicated topic. For starters, I’d concentrate on reducing your reliance on processed foods; try to incorporate more produce. If it’s in a package at the grocery store and has multiple ingredients, think twice before picking it up. Thanks for reading and posting.

Leave a Reply

