Cheat meals

Despite my adherence to my workout regimen this week, I didn’t do so well with my diet.  One night out to eat with my wife, one day with a tasty meal served at work, one night at a party.  My weight increased almost 3 pounds in the last 4 days, but I suspect that is largely just due to a change in water balance.  More carbs and more salt equates to an increase in water mass.  That “weight gain” is easily eliminated by returning to my regular diet (40% protein, 40% carbs, 20% fat).

I believe there is value in cheat meals, cheat days, etc.  Being able to splurge once in a while allows you to “get it out of your system” so you can re-focus on your planned diet.  Some people work better with an all-or-nothing approach, and there’s certainly value in that as well.  If I had an upcoming target date, I may eliminate cheat meals, but I love food as much as anyone else and need to indulge myself once in a while. 

Leave a Reply

