My grocery shopping day

Just got back from my Saturday routine, zipping through the supermarket and discount warehouse for our weekly grocery needs. Here’s a peek at what I bought:

  • Bananas
  • Pears
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • Oranges (for my wife to juice)
  • Grapefruit (“)
  • Tater tots (my wife had a rare urge to make tater tot hot dish tonight)
  • Skim Milk
  • Cod filets
  • Grapes
  • Eggs
  • Naked – Blue Machine juice (love it, easiest way to get my blueberries in January)
  • Fiber Choice (reduce risk of colon cancer, of course)
  • Cat food (not for me, I swear)

Missing from this list, of course, is my ridiculous amount of chicken – I usually stock up on it when it’s on sale or hit the warehouse club when I’m desperate.

Why do I bother to discuss this list? It goes back to my point that “If it’s not in your house, you’re not going to eat it.” Therefore, don’t even put garbage in your grocery cart, and you won’t have to feel guilty about munching on it when you’re vulnerable. Remember, lifestyle changes begin at the grocery store.

When I get a craving, I’m reaching for either the Naked juice or the grapes to tide me over, and I’ll still feel good about that.

Leave a Reply

