Do I HAVE to work out today?

Funny how the mind works. I was feeling quite unmotivated to do anything yesterday. After needing to leave the house too early to fit in my morning workout and then working all day, all I wanted to do was kick back and relax last night, especially since I would have numerous sleep disruptions being on call last night. I had just fit in a great workout the previous night, but knew I wouldn’t be able to do weights tonight, thanks to my schedule.

Since I don’t hold myself to a rigid workout schedule like some people do, I give myself the freedom to pick those lazy nights. My life is far too unpredictable with work demands, etc. to ever stick to a weekly schedule. So, I just aim to do cardio most mornings and weights 3 nights/week.

Then, my wife gave me a mini pep-talk and hopped on the elliptical.

Say no more . . .

Once I started working out, I fell into a groove and had a really good time. I made some improvements in some lifts and felt some good muscle burn that makes it all worthwhile. Can’t wait for the DOMS!

Some times it just takes a little extra motivation to get things going.

“The difference between a successful person and
others is not a lack of strength, not a lack of
knowledge, but rather a lack of will.”
Vince Lombardi
Leave a Reply

