My old lipid panel – pre-transformation

Back in May, 2006, I last had some blood work done, for an insurance exam, that included a lipid panel. I, of course, held onto those results, because I obsess over my risk factors for heart disease. Here they are, in their unimpressive glory.

  • Total Cholesterol – – – 197 [<200]
  • HDL-C – – – – – – – – – – – 34 [>39]
  • LDL-C (calculated) – – 140 [<130]
  • Triglycerides – – – – – -113 [<150]
  • TC/HDL ratio – – – – – – 5.8 [<5.0]

And, of course, as part of metabolic syndrome, one must be concerned about the fasting glucose . . .

  • Fasting glucose – – – – – 71 [<100]

My HDL had actually been worse a few years before that, in large part due to some bad habits learned in college and carried into med school.

Stay tuned for the current lipid panel results. We’ll see how much progress I was able to make since cleaning up my diet and starting an exercise regimen.  I’m nowhere near my fitness goal, but I’m hoping to see some progress.

Leave a Reply

