Analysis of my new lipid panel

The results are in. I have to admit, I expected better numbers compared to my lipids measured 1.5 years ago, but here goes:

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – 5/2006 – – – – – – 2/2008

  • Total Cholesterol – – – 197 – – [<200] – – – – – 191
  • HDL-C – – – – – – – – – – – 34 – – [>39] – – – – – – 36
  • LDL-C (calculated) – – 140 – – [<130] – – – – – 146
  • Triglycerides – – – – – – 113 – – [<150] – – – – – 44
  • TC/HDL ratio – – – – – – 5.8 – – [<5.0] – – – – – – 5.3
  • Fasting glucose – – – – – 71 – -[<100] – – – – – – 78

My observations:

  1. HDL is slightly higher, not to goal.
  2. LDL slightly higher (OUCH . . . really can’t explain this one).
  3. Triglycerides are considerably lower – I don’t know if I’ve ever seen one this low. At least one portion of my lipid panel changed considerably – too bad it was already normal.
  4. TC/HDL ratio is slightly improved, but still not to goal.

I have a couple theories to explain the less-than-stellar improvements in these numbers.

  1. Family history – there is definitely a history of low HDL/high LDL on my maternal side.
  2. Labs were performed at different labs – hard to estimate the impact of this one, but certainly can be a factor.
  3. Last year, I really only stuck to my solid regimen for 4 months. After that, I had a tremendously busy, stressful year that precluded a good fitness routine. Thus, these numbers probably reflect only a solid 6-7 weeks of my regimen from this year, following a 7-8 month period of relative inactivity prior to that.
  4. I discovered a study that demonstrated the HDL responding less to exercise in individuals with low Triglycerides compared to individuals with high Triglycerides. This article highlights a possible explanation for why the HDL did not increase as much as I expected. This finding is news to me – never heard/read about this concept before.
  5. Last year, I was taking a protein supplement that had quite a bit of fat, including saturated fat. That may have accounted for the higher LDL. I’m currently using a pure protein supplement with no fat. That’s the only supplement I will use. [That’s a topic for another day.]
  6. HDL probably increases better as a result of longer-duration endurance training workouts than I get with High-Intensity Interval Training (HIIT) workouts on the elliptical. Could this be one limitation of HIIT?

Regardless, this just serves as another motivator for me to turn everything up a notch. I’m not a fan of long-duration endurance training, but I will probably incorporate more into my training. At least in the summer, I will do a large amount of biking.

I’ll be checking these numbers again in a year. I refuse to depend on medication, so I’ll be working hard.

One Response to “Analysis of my new lipid panel”

  1. need to evaluate lipid panel using new technology that provides information regarding particle number and particle size. People with old lipid results have been proved to be at high risk .

Leave a Reply

