I might have been overtraining

I’ve struggled to do much of anything as far as workouts in the past 2 weeks, largely due to an insane work schedule which is all too unforgiving. As a practical matter, I end of forfeiting my workout time in the morning when I am exhausted and in dire need of a little more sleep to get through the daily madness.

Things have finally slowed down a little bit (I hope) and I’m getting back on my routine. Interestingly, when I re-started my weightlifting workouts the other day, I started back on legs and ended up squatting more weight than I had been able to previously. Also, back on the elliptical with HIIT I have had better endurance and was actually questioning the settings because it seemed easier than before.  We’ll see what happens when I get back to my other weightlifting workouts.

When your progress plateaus, it’s probably a good idea to step back and analyze your need for rest.  The gym is not where the muscle growth occurs – lifting weights just stresses the muscles, then muscle growth occurs when resting.  It’s definitely wise to space out your routines or give yourself a break once in a while.  Same with cardio – some times the body just needs a break.  I know these things, and I still fell victim to overtraining.  All the while I felt fine; it’s just not an obvious situation.

Leave a Reply

