Still, my deadlift is limited by grip strength

I’ve been working on my grip strength in a few different ways, because it drives me nuts to give up early on a lift when a “supporting” muscle group gives away before the intended muscle group does.

I’ve been using these Heavy Grips to increase grip strength and have certainly noticed improvement, but again my back can handle increasing loads at a much faster rate than my grip can.

I’m considering some chalk for my hands – I may have to order some so that I can keep progressing with my deadlift – it is my favorite lift, after all.

2 Responses to “Still, my deadlift is limited by grip strength”

  1. Chalk is always a good idea.

    Another solution is to use a mixed grip. It feels a bit weird at first, but it keeps the bar from rolling out of your hands. You should switch the hands off regularly to keep the development on both sides consistent.

    If neither of those help, there are straps that wrap around the wrist and then coil around the bar under the hands. I don’t have any experience using them, so I can’t say how well they work.

    Good luck with it. Deadlifts rock!

  2. I have been using the mixed grip – you’re right . . . it’s a little awkward at first. I still feel that I could move more weight if I could just get a better grip, as I still feel the bar sliding out of my fingers in the mixed grip.

    I’m going to find some chalk. See the next post as well for my other strategies.

Leave a Reply

