Back in the swing

This is my favorite time of year, by far.  I love the in-between feeling of Spring and Summer, the emerging green grass and leaves, and, best yet, the start of softball

I had my first game last night and am geared up for more.  Many criticize baseball/softball as a lazy sport, where there’s not a consistent level of activity and thus is not good exercise.  Very true for some people . . . not me.

A little background, first – I’m on a co-ed team with a few people who have never played organized sports, let alone softball (makes for interesting moments).  On top of that, we were short two players last night.  In a situation like that, I become the ultimate utility player, trying to cover shortstop and most of left field, trying to snag any fly ball in the same zip code.  I was huffing and puffing nearly the whole game.  Amazingly, or maybe because the other team was lacking skill, we managed to win short-handed.

There are plenty of sprinting opportunities during a game, between batting/running bases and chasing balls in the field on defense – at times, it felt a little like one of my HIIT workouts. I’m also feeling some DOMS already, from tapping into those base-running muscles.

I’m not going to advocate for softball as a replacement for regular workouts, but it certainly has a place in my fitness regimen.  Every summer, I drop several pounds, which I largely attribute to the summer sports, primarily softball.  I also have the opportunity to play Monday nights as well, but I’ve decided to limit it to one night/week so I can maintain my weightlifting regimen ideally 3 days/week.

2 Responses to “Back in the swing”

  1. Hey, I ‘m afraid I’m a lazy golfer doc, but I did make it to old.

    I love spring too- another year to play on the green grass rather than be on the wrong side of it.

    I sense you are young- you might enjoy my blog- I am trying to recapture some of my experiences from a lifetime in medicine.

    As far as I know, mine is the first physician bluegrass fiction writer’s weblog.

    Keep on playing, kid. I always like to read about other docs.

    Dr. Tom Bibey

    drtombibey.wordpress.com

  2. Dr. CJ Says:

    Thanks, Dr. Tom! I am indeed a young doc . . . and an aspiring golfer as well. Will definitely take a look at your blog.

Leave a Reply

